Craig Calhoun

Craig Calhoun is University Professor of Social Sciences at Arizona State University and Centennial Professor of Sociology at LSE. Previously, he was Director of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), President of the Berggruen Institute, and President of the Social Science Research Council (SSRC). He has also taught at Columbia University; the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, where he served as Dean of the Graduate School and founded the University Center for International Studies; and New York University, where he was University Professor and founded the Institute for Public Knowledge.

Henry Cisneros

Henry Cisneros is the Principal of Siebert, Cisneros, Shank & Co., and the Chairman of the CityView companies, which work with the nation’s leading homebuilders to create homes priced within the range of average families.  In 1981, Mr. Cisneros became the first Hispanic-American mayor of a major US city, San Antonio, Texas. During his four terms as Mayor, he helped rebuild the city’s economic base and spurred the creation of jobs through infrastructure and downtown improvements. In 1984, Mr. Cisneros was considered as a possible candidate for US Vice President and in 1986 was selected as the “Outstanding Mayor” in the nation by City and State

Richard Mittenthal

Richard Mittenthal is the President and CEO of TCC Group. Since joining the firm in 1989, he has led consulting and planning assignments for a wide range of clients, including the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Ford Foundation, the Margaret Cargill Foundation, the Jewish Museum, the US Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Studio Museum in Harlem, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, The Children's Defense Fund, the United Way of New York City, the Institute for Advanced Studies, and the Roosevelt Institute.

Pamela Samuelson

Pamela Samuelson is the Richard M. Sherman Distinguished Professor of Law and Information at the University of California, Berkeley. She is recognized as a pioneer in digital copyright law, intellectual property, cyberlaw and information policy. Since 1996, she has held a joint appointment at Berkeley Law School and UC Berkeley's School of Information. Samuelson is a director of the internationally-renowned Berkeley Center for Law & Technology. She serves on the advisory board of the Electronic Frontier Foundation and the Electronic Privacy Information Center, as well as on the advisory boards for the Center for Democracy & Technology, Public Knowledge, and the

Lee C. Bollinger

Lee C. Bollinger became the nineteenth President of Columbia University on June 1, 2002.  A prominent advocate of affirmative action, he played a leading role in the twin Supreme Court cases—Grutter v Bollinger and Gratz v Bollinger—that upheld and clarified the importance of diversity as a compelling justification for affirmative action in higher education.  A leading First Amendment scholar, he is widely published on freedom of speech and press, and currently serves on the faculty of Columbia Law School. This past fall, he taught a course, A Free Press for a Global Society, focused on issues he addresses in his most recent work, Uninhibited

Nancy Cantor

Nancy Cantor is the Chancellor of Rutgers University–Newark. A distinguished leader in higher education, she is recognized nationally and internationally as an advocate for re-emphasizing the public mission of colleges and universities, both public and private, viewing them not as traditional "ivory towers," but as anchor institutions that collaborate with partners from all sectors of the economy to fulfill higher education’s promise as an engine of discovery, innovation, and social mobility.
Having led a highly inclusive and democratic strategic visioning process at Rutgers University–Newark in her inaugural year, she is now leading implementation of

Bradley Currey, Jr.

Bradley Currey is the retired Chairman and CEO of Rock-Tenn Company, a manufacturer of packaging and recycled paperboard products with over $1 billion in sales. Mr. Currey serves on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee of Rock-Tenn Company and Genuine Parts Company, and on the Board of Directors of Brown & Brown, Inc. and Enzymatic Deinking Technologies, LLC. He also served as Deputy Chairman and Chairman of the Board of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta. Currey is a trustee emeritus of Emory University, having served as an active trustee 1980-2000, and as Chairman from 1994-2000. He served as a director of the Atlanta Chamber of Commerce for many

Admiral B.R. Inman

Admiral B R. Inman holds the Lyndon B. Johnson Centennial Chair at the University of Texas at Austin and sits on the Board of Directors of Academi, formerly Xe Services. One of The American Assembly's most respected trustees, Admiral Inman served as chair of the Advisory Council for The Next Generation Project.  Admiral Inman has served in the public sector, business, government and education. A 1950 graduate of the University of Texas, he spent thirty-one years in the Navy and was the first Naval Intelligence Officer to achieve four-star rank. While on active duty he served as Director of the National Security Agency and Deputy Director of Central Intelligence. He has

Stephen Stamas

From 1957-1960, Stephen Stamas served both in the US Budget Bureau and as a loan officer in the Development Loan Fund. In 1968-1969, he was Deputy Assistant Secretary for Financial Policy in the US Department of Commerce. Except for this period of government service, from 1960 to 1986, Mr. Stamas was an employee of Exxon Corporation in a number of financial, supply, corporate planning and public affairs positions. He retired from Exxon Corporation as Vice President of public affairs.
He is currently Chair of Marlboro School of Music and Co-chair of the American Trust for the British Library. He also serves on the Board of the New York Philharmonic,

Paul Volcker

In the course of his career, Paul Volcker worked in the US Federal Government for almost 30 years, culminating in two terms as Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, from 1979-1987, a critical period in bringing a high level of inflation to an end. In earlier stages of his career, Mr. Volcker served as Undersecretary of the Treasury for Monetary Affairs during the early 1970s, a period of historic change in international monetary arrangements. He subsequently became President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, and in earlier years was an official of The Chase Manhattan Bank.
Mr. Volcker retired as Chairman of

Clifton R. Wharton, Jr.

Dr. Wharton has been a major figure in four different fields - philanthropy, foreign economic development, higher education, and business.
He is the former chairman and chief executive officer of TIAA-CREF, the world's largest pension fund with assets of $260 billion. He thereby became the first black to become CEO of a Fortune 500 company (No. 18 on the 1999 list). Among his previous positions are: president of Michigan State University (1970-78); chancellor of the State University of New York System (1978-87); and chairman of the Rockefeller Foundation succeeding Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh. He has served six presidents in foreign policy advisory posts

The American Assembly
475 Riverside Drive, Suite 456 New York, NY 10115
212-870-3500 -