Service to Democracy

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Service to Democracy Award

The Service to Democracy Award is presented to national leaders who exemplify President Eisenhower's founding principle when he established The American Assembly "to reconcile divergent views in order to accomplish a common purpose."

Past recipients of the Service to Democracy Award for the public sector include George H.W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, W. Averell Harriman, Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Sandra Day O'Connor, Colin Powell, David Rockefeller, Brent Scowcroft, George Shultz, Cyrus Vance and Paul Volcker, among other distinguished Americans.

The American Assembly, an affiliate of Columbia University, was founded by Dwight D. Eisenhower in 1950 as one of this country's first national, nonpartisan public policy institutions. It commissions research and authoritative books, sponsors conferences and of leading experts, and issues reports of findings and recommendations addressed to policy and lawmakers and the public.


The American Assembly

475 Riverside Drive
Suite 456
New York, NY
FAX: 212-870-3555

Reinventing America's Legacy Cities

Henry Cisneros, American Assembly trustee and twenty-year veteran of Assembly urban affairs work, says of the Legacy Cities meeting in Detroit:

"...All of us who participated were motivated by our desire to arrest the deterioration of the hardest hit cities and to improve the quality of life for the people who reside in them.  I believe we laid out a reasonable path."